Alpharetta Driving School offers a variety of Teen Driver’s Education courses that range from the Traditional Program with 30 hours in the classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training to the Expert Program with 30 hours in the classroom and 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Students must fill out a pre-evaluation form prior to the start of class to help us better assess their strengths and weaknesses while driving.
What is Joshua’s Law?
Since January 1, 2007, all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver’s license must first complete a driver’s education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. Additionally, every 16-year-old must complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these requirements have been met. This course may be completed in sections. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver’s education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver’s license.
Students receive a State of Georgia “Certificate of Completion” once they pass the course and the Department of Driver Services is notified.
So how do you benefit from taking Driver’s Ed with our School
- We are available to pick students up from their home, school or work!
- It satisfies the 30-hour requirement of Georgia’s Joshua’s Law classroom or online instruction.
- 16-year-olds become eligible to obtain their Class D driver’s license.
- Students can receive insurance discounts of 10-20% and a $150.00 tax credit and with packages starting at $145, you earn FIVE dollars
- The professional, patient and easy to approach instructors are dedicated to understanding the specific needs of EVERY student. Students will learn to drive safely and prepare for their road test
- Male & female driving instructors who are fluent in Spanish, Portuguese & Korean are available upon request!
- Each driver’s education vehicle utilized is licensed by the Department of Driver Services.
- We have a Honda Certified Mechanic teach a 2-hour car maintenance class during our 30-hour Driver’s Ed courses.
- All lessons are private, one-on-one instructions between the student and teacher.
- Interactive tutorials and group discussions will help facilitate the driver’s education program.